I Want To Be Like Water

I want to be like water.

Water has a quiet power, an ever-realized presence, a sound with no force, an ability to move and be solid.

If I could be water I would slide through your cracks, inhibit your crevices and then become solid within them.

I would vaporize so that you could breathe me in and taste my smoke.

But

I can’t manipulate water; I am not graceful or flowing.

I am made of flesh and bone that refuses to adapt, refuses to recreate itself.

No matter how much I want it to.

No matter how much I want to become everything that you are.

This stubborn flesh hides my thoughts behind watery eyes, my tongue forbids my speech and again

I wish I were water.

That my words spilled out.

Truth be told I would love to witness their birth, these words.

For I myself don’t know their final form.

Sometimes I feel as though their sheer utterance may keep me from bursting.

I wonder if there is something wrong with me, possible glaring abnormalities, differences that I should be paying attention to.

We.

The two of us.

we are a puzzle with half the pieces missing, as if we took them and shook them and dumped them in the river and now have decided to scour the world in search of their remnants.

They would have been warped by the river, and even if by some miracle we came upon them.

They would not be the things they once were.

Image Credit Unknown

Luck

235 thoughts on “I Want To Be Like Water

  1. Really nice poem – I think this is an awesome premise. If you don’t mind a suggestion, I’d single space and lose all those periods! Nice work, though – you’re a talented writer.

    Like

  2. The heart of your writing while appearing reasonable at first, did not sit properly with me after some time. Somewhere within the paragraphs you managed to make me a believer but only for a while. I nevertheless have a problem with your jumps in assumptions and one would do nicely to help fill in those breaks. In the event you actually can accomplish that, I will surely end up being fascinated.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Can I simply say what a aid to search out somebody who truly knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You definitely know find out how to convey an issue to light and make it important. More individuals must learn this and perceive this side of the story. I cant imagine youre not more widespread because you undoubtedly have the gift.

    Like

  4. Hiya! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a blog article or vice-versa? My blog covers a lot of the same topics as yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each other. If you might be interested feel free to send me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you! Great blog by the way!

    Like

  5. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I do not know who you are but certainly you are going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already ;) Cheers!

    Like

  6. This is beautiful!
    It reminds me of a question my friend asked the other day. She said ‘if you could bend any element what would it be’ and I said water with no hesitation. There’s something so magical about it.
    Lovely post Xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment